

CONFERENCE AGENDA

Last updated May 21, 2024

Sunday, June 9

2-7 pm	Registration open
5-6:30 pm	Welcome reception at the Renaissance Hotel

Monday, June 10

7:30-8:30 am	Continental breakfast
8:30-9 am	Welcome and opening remarks
9-10 am	Panel – Cooperation and Innovation
	Moderator: Minnesota Chair Katie Sieben
	U.S. Senator Tina Smith, FERC Commissioner Allison Clements and
	Bethany Owen, President and CEO of ALLETE, Inc.
10-10:30 am	Networking break
10:30-11:30 am	Breakout session 1 – Innovative Ideas in Commission Permitting and
	Community Engagement Moderator: North Dakota Commissioner Sheri Haugen Hoffart
	 Moderator: North Dakota Commissioner Sheri Haugen-Hoffart Matt Prine, Indiana America Water: Randy Satterfield, Next Gen
	mater rine, mainta , interior riater, nama, satternera, rient
	Highways; Charles Sutton, Sutton Consulting; and Sadzi Oliva, United Scrap Metal.
	Breakout session 2 – Innovation in Transportation Electrification
	Moderator: Michigan Commissioner Katherine Peretick
	 Indiana Commissioner Wes Bennett; Phil Jones, Alliance for
	Transportation Electrification; Jason Grenier, Otter Tail Power;
	Andrea Pratt, Greenlane.
11:30-1 pm	Lunch hosted by 2025 MARC host state - Indiana
1-2 pm	Panel – Data Centers and Load Growth
	Moderator: Minnesota Commissioner Joe Sullivan
	Bob Frenzel, Xcel Energy; Scott Wright, MISO; Betsy Beck, Google;
	Aaron Tinjum, Data Center Coalition; and Kevin Pranis, LiUNA
	Minnesota and North Dakota.

2-3 pm	 Panel – The State of Inter-Regional Planning in the MARC footprint Moderator: Indiana Commissioner Sarah Freeman Jennifer Curran, MISO; Casey Cathey, SPP; Sami Abdulsalam, PJM; and Krista Tanner, ITC Holdings Corporation.
3-3:15 pm	Announcements
3:15-3:45 pm	Networking break
3:45-4:45 pm	 Breakout session 1 – Advanced Meters, Data, and Privacy Moderator: Iowa Chair Erik Helland Wisconsin Commissioner Kristy Nieto; Sarah Moskowitz, Illinois Citizens Utility Board; Dan Jacobson, Landis+Gyr; and Bryce McKenney, NRG. Breakout session 2 – IRA and IIJA Implementation Moderator: Wisconsin Chair Summer Strand Karin Haas, U.S. Department of Energy; Katerina Stephan, RMI; Owen Henriksen, Great River Energy; and Pete Wyckoff, MN Department of Commerce.
5-5:45 pm	MARC Board Meeting (Commissioners only)
Evening	On your own

Tuesday, June 11

7:30-8:30 am	Continental breakfast
8:20-8:30 am	Announcements
8:30-9:30 am	Panel – Innovative Energy Technologies: Nuclear, Geothermal, Transmission, Hydrogen, and More • Moderator: Illinois Chair Doug Scott • Iowa Commissioner Josh Brynes; Jørgen Festervoll, Heimdall Power; Muss Akram, CenterPoint Energy; and Ben Reinke, Xenergy.
9:30-10 am	 Panel – The Future of Gas Moderator: South Dakota Chair Kristie Fiegen Michigan Commissioner Alessandra Carreon; Korlon Kilpatrick, Citizens Energy Group; Audrey Partridge, Center for Energy and the Environment; and Heather Dziedzic, American Biogas Council.
10:30-11 am	Networking break
11 am-12 pm	 Breakout session 1 – Tales from the Demand Side Moderator: Illinois Commissioner Ann McCabe Kansas Commissioner Andrew French; Matt Dority, Evergy; Carmen Best, Recurve; Shawn Enterline, RAP.

	Breakout session 2 – Virtual Power Plants, Aggregation, Demand
	Response, and Distributed Energy Resources
	Moderator: Missouri Chair Kayla Hahn
	Illinois Commissioner Conrad Reddick; Yok Potts, Smart Electric
	Power Alliance; Pier LaFarge, Sparkfund; and Avery McEvoy, RMI.
12-1:15 pm	Lunch
1:15-2:15 pm	Panel – Building the Utility Workforce: Innovations in Recruitment,
	Training and Apprenticeship
	Moderator: Illinois Commissioner Michael Carrigan
	Richard Kolodziejski, North Central States Regional Council of
	Carpenters; Jason George, International Union of Operating
	Engineers Local 49; Bejeray Morrison, Sunrun; and Kurt
	Zimmerman, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
	Local 160.
2:15-3:15 pm	Panel – Equity and Affordability
	Moderator: Missouri Commissioner Maida Coleman
	 Jose Perez, Hispanics in Energy; Shubha Harris, Fresh Energy; and
	Annie Levenson-Falk, Minnesota Citizens Utility Board.
3:15-3:45 pm	Networking break
3:45-4:45 pm	Breakout session 1 – Resilience and Reliability
	 Moderator: Arkansas Commissioner Katie Anderson
	Wisconsin Commissioner Marcus Hawkins; Sara Patrick, Midwest
	Reliability Organization; Bob Ervin, Aqua-Indiana; Robert Gee,
	Gee Strategies Group.
	Breakout session 2 – Energy Storage
	Moderator: Indiana Commissioner David Veleta
	 Illinois Commissioner Stacey Paradis; Eric Watson, Energy Dome;
	Beth Soholt, Clean Grid Alliance; and Gabe Murtaugh, Long
	Duration Energy Storage Council.
6:40 pm	Minnesota Twins vs. Colorado Rockies
	The MARC block of tickets to the Minnesota Twins Baseball Game Outing
	is currently SOLD OUT. You can try to purchase a ticket to the Twins
	game separately, or stop by the Conference Registration Desk on
	Tuesday, June 11, at 5 p.m. where any unclaimed tickets will be
	distributed.

Wednesday, June 12

7:30-8:30 am	Continental breakfast
8:20-8:30 am	Announcements

8:30-9:30 am	Panel – The State of Regulation in the MARC Footprint: Commissioners'
	Perspectives
	Moderator: Lauren Bethke, Minnesota PUC

	All MARC Commissioners!
9:30-10 am	Closing remarks
Starting at 10 am	Tours, including: • Xcel Energy Sherco Solar Facility • Xcel Energy Marshall Operations Center • Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant • CenterPoint Energy Hydrogen Electrolyzer Pilot • LJ Shosten Union Training Center • District Energy St. Paul • Walking tour of downtown Minneapolis led by MN Commissioner John Tuma • NextEra Gopher Energy Storage Project
	Transportation will depart from and return to the Renaissance Hotel.